Danish Descendant in Saxon Clothing

Right now I’m writing a series with Ruth A. Casie that is set around 1501. The series has quite a bit of fantasy in it and I’m thinking it’s more of an alternate reality because we aren’t necessarily following historical events. But the series does have the Highlanders and the kilts, etc.

A while back I wrote a medieval romance set during William the Conqueror’s time. Some day I would like to write a series and tie it in to our Highlander series, maybe to explain more about the Highlander magic and what happened to make the magic lesser in the 1500s, and what happened to the Aberock tomes. I wanted to post this article that I wrote after doing tons of research on the Saxons. Here it is:

The Angles and Saxons began their invasion into England during the final days of the Roman Empire and within 150 years, they dominated their new land. Though their language was Germanic in origin, it was always referred to as English whether spoken by Saxons, Jutes or Angles.

Christianity came first to England during the Roman days, but due to the customs of its new Saxon kings, Christianity fell out of fashion. Missionaries reappeared during the sixth century, and over the next hundred years, they slowly began to reconvert the English.

We find the term Engla Lande, (Lande of the Angles), used around 880. By this time, the Viking invaders had already been to England’s shores several times. Their constant raids led them to settle York, East Anglia and Mercia. Once settled, they forced the English to buy them off with treasure called Danegeld. Should any English person encounter a Viking, the English person had to cede the road or bridge and call the Viking “Lord” or “Lady Dane.” Not satisfied with these accomplishments, the Vikings continued to attack the English natives, until King Alfred led his rebellion and began reclaiming the territory. For a while, Alfred confined them to a large area known as the Danelaw.

Though the Danes did continue to fight for dominance over England, the English themselves became more independent and began developing their own culture, law and language until the Norman invasion of 1066, when their customs were absorbed and altered by their new conquerors.


  1. Aefen: Evening.
  2. Aernemergen: Early morning.
  3. Alderman: Noble.
  4. Andsaca: Enemy.
  5. Anforht: Terrified.
  6. Anhaga: Solitary.
  7. Anwealda: Lord.
  8. Atheling: Prince.
  9. Attor: Venom.
  10. Bana: Slayer.
  11. Beadurinc: Warrior.
  12. Bearn: Child.
  13. Beorn: Man.
  14. Bileofa: Food.
  15. Bill: Sword.
  16. Bilwit: Innocent.
  17. Boga: Bow.
  18. Bordweall: Sheld-wall.
  19. Breostcofa: Heart.
  20. Bretwalda: Ruler of Britons.
  21. Brimmann: Viking.
  22. Burh: Fort.
  23. Burnsele: Bathing area.
  24. Byrne: Coat of mail.
  25. Byrnwiga: Armored warrior.
  26. Cald: Cold.
  27. Daeg: Day.
  28. Derlan: Harm.
  29. Dohtor: Daughter.
  30. Dol: Foolish.
  31. Dolg: Wound.
  32. Feond: Enemy.
  33. Faeder: Father.
  34. Eald: Old.
  35. Gast: Angel (m.).
  36. Gebiddan: Pray.
  37. Geboren: Brother.
  38. Gewinnan: Conquer.
  39. Gyst: Stranger.
  40. Hwitel: Knife.
  41. Hordcofa, Sefa: Heart.
  42. Holt: Forest.
  43. Holm: Sea.
  44. Mearh: Horse.
  45. Preost: Priest.
  46. Ides: Woman.
  47. Treow: Faith, truth.
  48. Wer: Husband.
  49. Wiflan: Marry.
  50. Wuldorfaeder: God.